WOYWW and Art Journaling With Friends

It is Wednesday again and time for WOYWW – where we visit our workspaces around the world. This time I cannot show my workspace, but maybe the following is of interest for you. This article was published in Unruly Paperarts already, but I think not all of you have seen it, so I post it here.

I like to use underpaper to protect my workspace (at least most of it). I use big sheets – 70 x 100 cm (27,56 x 39,37 inch) – of good sturdy watercolour paper. It is quite expensive, but luckily I have some sheets in my stash that are not 100 percent stain free, so that is a good way to use them up. This is what they look like when I am through with them. Sort of wild and trashy. But you will see, the beauty shows in the details.

underpaper4

I tore this big sheet in halves to the size of 25 x 17,5 cm (9,84 x 6,89 inch) and ended up with 16 pieces. I did not look for any patterns, just ripped the page up as it comes. When I took a close look at the segments, I realized, that some of them where so pretty, like a painting done on purpose. There is so much beauty in the details I just felt bad covering them with paint. Other ones just needed minor additions to make it complete.

underpaper1

Also I have been seeking a good way of displaying tags, ATCs etc. from friends and maybe incorporate them into my art. It is inspiring to me, working with friends artwork, I feel somehow connected to them while doing this. It was so much fun, to start this little art journal where I could combine both. Here is my box of treasures where I collect my cut up underpaper and all kinds of stuff from friends.

treasure

I have no experience in bookmaking at all, but always wanted to try it, so please forgive that this is not a perfect product. Unlike for many cardmakers, perfection is not an issue for me – unexpected stains and distressed edges sometimes add more interest. I decided to use a simple binding with 3 stitches, because the book will have the format of 12,5 x 17,5 cm (4,92 x 6,89 inch) and that would be enough. Here now is the first signature of I don´t know how many yet to come.

flyfreemW

The colours of this background were a perfect match with the postcard on the right hand side and a beautiful tag on the left. The tag and the three small squares on the upper right are from an Australian friend and the leaves cut from book pages and coloured by me are a gift from Bibi Lindahl, the owner of Rubber Dance. The leaf stamps in the background and the text fly free are by Rubber Dance. Here you can see the simple binding very well.

schmetterlingmW

This butterfly by a friend from the US found its place because of the turquoise colour match. This page was very lively so I calmed it down a little with the card here and now from my stash on the right side. I stenciled a few black accents to pull everything together and put some washi tape on the bottom. I stamped those round shapes in light turquoise on the left and the right side with Round in Circles from Rubber Dance.

taschemW

Here I cut up an envelope from Bibi Lindahl to use as a pocket, which houses a beautiful tag and shows Rubber Dance stamping – spirals, circles and hearts, which also calmed the very vivid page a little.

tasche2mW

The green tag is from my stash and is attached to the butterfly to hold both in place. On the reverse side various stamps from Rubber Dance.

artbirdsmW1

This page shows a raven from a napkin, some more collage with magazine scraps, part of a wonderful card from a friend from Sweden and a lot of Rubber Dance stamps.

artbirdsmW

Here I tried to repeat the egg shaped pattern with a stencil using similar colours and I´ve also used many Rubber Dance stamps.

libellemWHere is a wonderful place for an ATC from a friend from the US. I thought that wonderful quote would go with the Rubber Dance dragonfly that happened to appear on just the right spot and I completed with Rubber Dance Weed Love stamp. I could not make such a background on purpose!

bibitagmW

A wonderful tag from Bibi Lindahl found its place on a page that had some horizontal lines like an abstract landscape. I completed sparingly with a face and the pine stamp from Rubber Dance.

jana1mW

As this is an old sheet of underpaper, it also has a stamp from another brand on it and I think it goes very well with the hearts circles and the sentiment just a note to a friend from Rubber Dance. And it goes so well with the wonderful handwriting from my friend in Sweden. I really love it when this happens.

jana2mW

The opposite page shows the beautiful card from my friend that you have already seen with the bird page. I added some handwriting, vintage postcard and circles stamps from Rubber Dance, some stenciling and a piece of washi tape.

I cannot give you a supply list, as it all depends on what you have in your stash or trash. I did use a lot of Rubber Dance stamps though for some finishing touches, as they are unique and give me a big variety of nice sentiments, of nature and vintage images and what I really use a lot – also in my paintings – are their text and background stamps. See for yourself at http://www.rubberdance.com. Their design team also shows a lot of inspiring projects.

This was such a pleasure to create, also because I feel connected to my friends, each time I have some of their artwork in my hand. And if it is only a scrap of some printed material, I feel it was thoughtfully chosen with love and that makes me feel good. One thing is for sure:  ART JOURNALING WITH FRIENDS is going to be continued. I will post the progress on my blog, the Rubber Dance blog and Facebook page and would love to see you there.

Hope to see you soon

Gabriele

 

 

24 Antworten zu “WOYWW and Art Journaling With Friends

  1. Fabulous project, so creative! It „reads“ like a scrapbook of your crafting life and I’m sure you will enjoy looking at it times and times again.

  2. Fabulous job on the book! Truly amazing work. Would love to learn how to make one. Happy 6th WOYWW Anniversary! Diane #29

  3. What a wonderful project. I love the idea. Your book is amazing! And a good way to remember your friends by.
    I’m still travelling but managed to have internet today so I’m visiting as many of you as I can. Happy anniversary all! Six years is quite a long time.
    Have a good week and CU Wednesday
    Lisca#45

  4. Your book looks scrumptious. I love the way you’ve pulled all the disparate elements together into cohesive pages and it’s like a wonderful collaborative project since you are using it to showcase gifted art.

  5. your book looks amazing, and my what a fab idea to reuse that backing paper, i always put down baking sheets and then chuck them, but i might rethink that idea, Thanks for the snoop on your workspace
    Jac x
    N0.39

  6. Hi there! I love the fact that you’ve used that under paper to create more art!! It’s brilliant, I’d never have thought of that. Your book is fab too, I like the different colours and styles on each page. That big blue butterfly is gorgeous!
    Happy 6th WOYWW
    Hugs. LLJ. 13 xxxx

  7. Wow! Lovely lovely idea not only to create a book to display the lovely gifts but also to recycle your paper 🙂
    Happy 6th WOYWW Anniversary
    Soojay 37#

  8. i loved your underpaper as it was i thought it was something planned! lol so glad your using it for other projects – your book is fab too
    Happy 6th Anniversary WOYWW-er!
    heres to many more
    Charlie x #35

  9. What a fantastic idea and it is turning out fabulously Gabriele 😀 You have matched things up so well; you have a perfect eye for what belongs together 😀 I have loved looking at all the pages 😀 ❤

  10. This is a simply gorgeous journal you have created. I was in awe and fascinated by how well you put it together.

    I have noticed when I have these underpapers, they are often much prettier than the ones I actually planned. Yours turned out lovely.

    Happy, happy 6th WOYWW anniversary from #1 and a fellow non-card making-details-must-be-perfect person, too..

  11. Well Gabriele, I’d say you are a natural bookmaker! The underpaper art is fascinating…I love the ‚whole‘ piece in the first picture as much as I love what you used it for in the end!

  12. I am loving this and now I know what to do with all those gorgeous sheets of paper that I have in one big pile under my cutting mat!
    Wishing you a great woyww anniversary day, Angela x 37

  13. Ahh…I saw his on unrulypaperarts, made me feel sorry that I actually managed to tear (and thus through away) the beautiful envelope I got when Bibi sent me a grabbag… Wishing you a great creative woyww year!
    Kristiina #6

  14. Hi Gabriele, happy 6th WOYWW and thanks for visiting. WOW is all I can say, your project is amazing…I have a work pad but haven’t yet ventured to recycle the messy work on them. Enjoy your week RobynO#14

  15. Hi Gabriele, Your book is absolutely stunning! I love it!
    I also use lots of watercolour paper as backing, especially when spraying with coloured mists and these papers often look better than whatever it is that I am working on 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by and happy 6th woyww.

  16. I love the idea of keeping a watercolor page as a blotter on your desk, and then using it for art projects. The handmade books you put together for your collection of personal and friends art projects is very clever and beautiful too. Blessings!

  17. What a great idea to make a book. I love how it turned out. Your binding looks really good to me…I have never even tried to bind a book. The pieces you added to the book make it even more interesting . Thanks for the visit already. #26

  18. I love using underpaper as you say your can create more art from it or use it as backgrounds. Your book is wonderful and it doesn’t matter how you made it as I’m sure there is no right or wrong way of doing it. Happy WOYWW anniversary. Anita #42

  19. I could spend ages looking at this.
    I’ve tried making an arty book like this and it’s a lot more difficult than it looks. Great work!

Thank you very much for visiting. You make my day, if you leave a comment!

