Back from stampers heaven

OMG! I am still breathless, when I think of last week. I WAS IN NORWAY VISITING BIBI LINDAHL OF RUBBER DANCE!!!

Many times we talked of how nice it would be coming together and we were making plans and dreamed. After many dreams my desire became stronger than my laziness and I bought myself a ticket and took off. To Norway, where I wanted to go to for so many years! Now I did it and I really felt a dream come true. I am in contact with Bibi Lindahl for some time and got to know her quite well, but meeting in person is something else for sure. Being a designer for her Rubber Dance stamps gave it an extra interest to see the place where she creates all these lovely things.

We decided to make a spread for WOYWW and also show a shot of us in the studio (hm, we both don´t like to be photographed). You can easily see, that we were busy during my visit! Ulla, Bibi´s darling poodle was always a nice companion.

bibistudio

Bibi is such a cheerful woman, we did have a lot of fun. But we also created some interesting things. Norway is famous for its many, many rock carving sites – I think there are more than 10.000!!! Here is some info from Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_rock_carvings_in_Norway

I always loved these prehistorical forms, figures and runes and liked to incorporate them into my paintings. You can imagine how happy I was, that Bibi wanted to show me a rock carving site near her town, called Begby. So we met with her friend Minna and Minna´s daughter Linn, who was taking some of the photos. Come on a walk with me to explore these wonderful carvings on a lovely sunny day!

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.

I found some pages in the net about rock carvings in Norway, the best one is in German, sorry. But I am sure, now that you know it, you can find some yourself.

http://www.ostfold-f.kommune.no/stream_file.asp?iEntityId=14139

http://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=12116

http://grosssteingraeber.de/seiten/norwegen/ostfold/felsritzungen-begby.php

But the biggest surprise was that Rubber Dance has a sheet of stamps showing the rock carvings! How cool is that!!!! Of course we had to make a spread with just that and also use the stamp leaves, because there were many autumn leaves on the rocks and it went together so well. Here you can see the Rubber Dance – Art-a-tag cooperation!

deskno

Don´t these leaves look just real? They are stamped on mono printed delicate paper and cut out. I looove this page. The background is created with acrylics and as stamping on that corrugated cardboard is not easy, Bibi stamped the carving images on rock photos.

detail2

To see the complete sheet of these brand new stamps just click right HERE. The link is http://www.rubberdance.com/sheets.html.

detail1

These stamps are so unique, I cannot wait to create some art with it. Bibi made some wonderful wrapping paper and a tag.

papierundtag

The paper looks like a rock surface itself – loooove it Bibi!! And what I love even more is the work, that is ahead of me:

deskWOYWW

That is the advantage of being a designer, but it also means tons of  lovely creative work – maybe call it playtime, that sounds like less sweat. Anyway, looking at that pile of stamps, you will be sure seeing a lot of new super cool artwork with Rubber Dance stamps in the future. First I have to organize them…………………

One thing I now know for sure – my stampers heaven is in Norway!!

See you soon!

Gabriele

Oh! I almost forgot (how could I!) I must go back to Norway! Ulla is waiting…….

bilde

 

 

30 Antworten zu “Back from stampers heaven

  1. Hi Gabriele, happy WOYWW….wow you sure had a wonderful trip to Norway, so lovely that you got to catchup with Bibi and to bring home some fabulous stamps….enjoy, Cheers RobynO##5

  2. Ich danke dir für die wundervolle Beschreibung deines Besuchs bei Bibi … and Ulla of course. Makes me wish to go there too ♥

    Bin schon gespannt auf deine Kreationen mit den neuen Goodies!

  3. What a fabulous post Gabriele, thank you for sharing some of your time with Bibi. I know exactly how exciting it is to finally get together with a blogland friend after my visit to Wales last week with Wee Man to meet Helen of helencrochet1. It is fun isn’t it. I actually thought you were in NOrway already lol. Where are you?
    Those stone carvings are fabulous and how clever of Bibi to replicate them onto rubber. The collaboration piece you did is gorgeous!! Who got to keep it? I’m looking forward to seeing what you create with your new stamp set. Happy WOYWW 😀 ((hugs))

  4. What a cute doggy! That must have been one big adventure – a new country and seeing an internet buddie for the first time. Wow, sight seeing and crafting!
    Hugs, Neet 34

  5. Oh how wonderful to meet a blogging friend for real…..and in Norway 🙂 Gorgeous photos of a very special time together.
    Hugs,
    Annie x # 31
    ps yes I use my sewing machine like a pen and simply draw the images on the fabric free hand 🙂 have a go…it’s fun.

  6. Oh! My dear Gabriele, thank you so much for this blog post!!! I see that it was a wonderful journey for you 🙂 It’s so great that you visited Bibi and spent together this wonderful autumn days!!! I’m so happy for you!!! 🙂 Big hugs and much love 🙂 xoxo
    ~Olga Kovalchuk

  7. Hi gabriele, what an interesting post. Cool that you had such a fab time meeting a ‚friend‘. I shall be having a look at these stamps, never heard of them before. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #28 xx

  8. Your trip to Norway sounds great fun, you look as though you both had a wonderful time and created some amazing artwork.
    Thanks for popping by earlier.
    Hugs Lisax #37

  9. What a wonderful time you had! Love seeing all the things you go up to..and Ulla is gorgeous. No wonder you can’t wait to go back 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 21 xx

  10. It looks like you had a great time. I enjoyed looking at all those photos. The stone carvings are awesome! Ulla looks like she wants to play….
    Thank you for letting me have a peep of your workspace.
    Have a good week
    Lisca#32

  11. WOW wow wow Gabriele!!! That layout is AMAZING!! You guys did a gorgeous job on it! And thanks for showing all the other pics too…super interesting!

    Thanks for the sweet birthday wishes!

    Happy WOYWW!
    Amy E. #12
    Scrapthissavethat.com

  12. Wow, what an amazing post and those rock carvings are amazing. Norway is one of my dream holidays and lovely to visit via a woyww post. Have a lovely week.
    Sandra de @16

  13. Yahhooowsa! I’m so glad I met Gabriele for real after having known her online for about 2 years. We had a grrrreat time, and making that spread together (well, Gabi did most of it – I stamped, she painted) was such fun!! It’s rather big, so I got to keep it (no room in her suitcase – lucky for me! 😉 ). It was raining most of the time, so we „had“ to stay indoors playing in my studio 😀 Maybe we can do more sigh-seeing next time … , but at least we got to see one of the rock carving sites in my area, which was a high priority. XOX & ❤

  14. Wow, that sounds like an amazing time! Such welcoming people! Glad you had a great time, and got to have some creative time too. I have never been there, but it sure sounds like a wonderful place to visit! Thanks for your visit today! Started the day with a smile! Winnie #44

  15. Hi Gabriele, I am so jealous, those stamps are gorgeous, how lucky you are and what a great visit. Happy crafty week and thanks for the visit at mine, Angela x 41

  16. What an unusual post, Gabriele. I am glad you had such a great time in Norway, and those stamps are amazing. What a great idea! The page is superb. I’ve just been making autumn leaves too!

    Thank you for your visit and your lovely comment. Beatrice does seem better now the antibiotics are working and she’s eating better, but was sick again today… We can’t seem to get on top of the infections once and for all, and she has a very delicate stomach. The food you mentioned for sick kitties sounds very good – we might have to try that! Meantime she has her special cat food and fresh fish which she enjoys.

    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Shoshi #42

  17. Oh wow looks like you had an amazing time. The stamps look really interesting. i shall have to go and have a nosy to see them. Thank you for visiting my blog Anita #50

  18. What a lovely time you had with Bibi in Norway! I was lucky enough to win some of her lovely stamps, but you probably saw them on my desk 🙂 I would love to visit Norway … some day. Bibi’s dog is absolutely gorgeous, isn’t she?
    Thanks for dropping by earlier.

  19. Got lost in Norway’s rock carvings for a bit and then got distracted by the pile of rubber on your desk… I don’t have a fetish but so many stamps make me swoon! Sound like you had the best time in Norway with Bibi!

  20. ooooh you did have a wonderful time! Love those stamps, they’re so cool and those leaves are very realistic. Sorr for the very late visit, see you next week :o) Annie C #52

Thank you very much for visiting. You make my day, if you leave a comment!

