Treasures from the past

Welcome to my – as usual – messy place. It is Wednesday again and time to get my blog set up for visitors from WOYWW and other places.

First I show you my desk, which is covered with tons of stamps, because I got loooooovely new stamps from Rubber Stamp which I might be showing next week because I have to get organized first. I got some of these crystal cases for CDs (old and new) and another CD rack (old) for more space. Problem is, I don´t have much time at the moment, so I might not be finished next week. We´ll see 🙂

woyww277

This weekend I spent some time looking for paintings I created about 15 years ago. It was a special technique using thinned acrylic paint with an instrument called „Fixateur“ in Germany. The paint is blown with lungs power and I used this, before I even knew spray inks. The advantage is, you can use any water based colour with it and it does not clog. The spray film is not always even, but I like that. And of course, acrylic does not bleed.

I decided to show some of the old paintings I like from time to time, because I used the technique of layering, stenciling, spraying before it became common. Quite interesting for me also. I will start with „Moondancer“, created with acrylics and crayon for the outline. I got the idea for this rather unusual shape from pre historical cave drawings from Lascaux in France.

moondancer

Here is the „Fixateur“ I was talking of:

fixateur

As the weather was so nice, Luna and I decided to take a little walk through the garden and see what surprises autumn left for us.

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.

Dear friends, that´s all for today, see you next Wednesday or maybe earlier.

Gabriele

 

28 Antworten zu “Treasures from the past

  1. That horse painting is stunning!! Fun to see how the current popular techniques were also used back then – and I bet before then, too. There’s nothing new under the sun, just re-inventions and some changes to already invented stuff. The Fixateur looks interesting – I wonder if I would have the lung capacity to use it, but it would be fun to try! Good to see your „messy“ desk (busy desk more like it), and what a lovely stroll I’ve had in your beautiful garden! Thank you for sharing that. Looks very beautiful – great photos! Luna is so adorable! ❤

  2. Wow, you do look busy and you say you have other stuff to do in your real life too…hope to see what you do with all of this rubber soon. #41

  3. I’ve got the silver thing but not the bottle or hose and didnt know what to do with the bloody thing, woops sorry. so that is what it is called. Love the moondancer too. Now I am going to have to research this thing but at least I have the name to go with for now. thanks so much a mystery is unfolding.

    Hugs Eliza, Yoda & Flat Susan who is helping me visit the desks right now.

    Happy WOYWW

  4. Wow, what a great pile of rubber stamps. Happy organizing!

    I love your garden photos, especially the ones with spider webs, they look so ethereal.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and for the nice comments. 🙂

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #7

  5. Hi Gabriel, I know the tool you were using, in the UK it is called a diffuser.
    I used them alot with fabric dyes and Brusho inks when I was teaching, the children loved spraying them.
    Have a great week and happy crafting, Angela x 36

  6. I love your painting, and what a great technique you used. I’ve seen the diffuser before but never tried using one. I love your photos too, especially the spider webs – they are so delicate and fairy like! Thanks for stopping by my desk, I hope you have a great week,
    Diana #32

  7. The fixateur sounds really interesting as you can make it spray as you want it. I love the effect you got with your painting. The colours are beautiful. Love the pics of your doggy and the garden. Have a great week,
    Von #23

  8. Hi Gabriele, I absolutely adore the horse.

    What a pretty garden you have and your little dog is adorable.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Happy WOYWW
    Sue 28

  9. Those are some fabulous looking stamps and I LOVE LOVE Moondancer. I have one of those Fixateur, I just have to find where I put it and try it out : ). Lovely garden pictures #6

  10. I forgot to say the purple puppet is actually an homage to the great Monster Godzilla, and a present for my friend who just had her 52nd birthday lol.

  11. All those stamps! I have stamp envy! And that tray of inks too, heaven 🙂
    Thanks for your visit
    Hugs
    Debs 26

  12. Hi Gabrielle,

    Look at all those rubber stamps on your desk! Lots of fun will be had. Do you use the cd covers to store your unmounted stamps? That would be a very cool idea….. it’s made me think.

    I love your horse painting too. It’s so neat; can’t wait for you to share your other paintings with us. The garden exploration shows all the beautiful colors you have. How fun!

    Thanks for visiting me earlier. I can’t believe it’s Sunday already.
    Happy WOYWW,
    Peace,
    kay (31)

  13. Very interesting post. The horse painting is fabulous. We are spoilt these days with our sprays, and embossing machines – in the old days it was much harder to get the results we take so much for granted nowadays! Like you, I am about to sort some stamps – I got some new ones the other day and am waiting for more EZ-Mount Foam to arrive so I can get them all mounted. Not a job I enjoy – even with my Tim Holtz non-stick scissors it’s a nasty sticky business!

    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Shoshi #35

Thank you very much for visiting. You make my day, if you leave a comment!

