Dangerous grapes?

No artwork this week, because we had (that is my husband) a quite bad accident with grapes. Accident with grapes? Accidents after some glasses of wine are easier to understand, but grapes!

Living in an area, where there are normally no grapes at all, because it is too cold,  we are very happy, that we have a wonderful grapevine, that gives us an enormous amount of the most delicate juicy dark red grapes. It is a miracle why they are so sweet and tasty. Maybe you can understand, why we want to protect them against any interested parties. Here is a photo, so you might understand:

trauben2

Looks good, right? We decided to place a net over it, to keep burglars away. My hubby climbed up our biggest ladder, because he is taller than I am, to attach the net as high as needed. When he had almost finished, the ladder broke and collapsed. OMG I almost got a heart attack, when I saw him laying on his back under the pieces of the ladder!! Here is the place where it happened:

trauben1

He missed the wall in the back by a few inches! He crawled out under the ruins of the ladder and fixed the net with a broom.

The next day I brought him to the doctor, because he was terribly in pain and he sent him to the hospital. They made all kinds of tests, because they were afraid he broke a vertebra!! It took 2 days until he knew that nothing was broken. He injured his shoulder, so he will have several painful weeks.

But he is still looking forward for the delicious products our dangerous grapevine is rewarding us with. Have a look:

saft

Wonderful sweet and tasty grapejuice – look at the colour

jelly

and yummy grape jam. I never saw grape jam in a supermarket – I wonder why? Well so I have something quite special and absolutely chemical free!

And what is Luna doing in the meantime? Minding her own business and trying to get out of the rain as quickly as possible.

luna

Maybe you can imagine, that my muse wasn’t by my side the last days and my desk is still waiting for me. Next week I will be back with some artsy stuff, I promise.

Happy WOYWW to you all and a special thank to Julia!

 

24 Antworten zu “Dangerous grapes?

  1. fabelhafte Weintrauben … und ja.. ich hab auch noch nie Weintraubenmarmelade gehabt…
    schmeckt sicher super!
    Happy WOYWW Gabriele!

  2. Hi Garbiele happy WOYWW…oh sorry to hear about your hubbys accident with the ladder, do hope he’s on the mend soon. But must say the grape juice and jam look really yummy. Cheers and hope you’re able to create soon RobynO#21

  3. Oh dear! I don’t think yo were doing WOYWW way back when Julia shared a joke photo of HER DH, lying in the garden under a ladder (cause she had had the ladder on view for many WOYWW weeks and got tired of people focusing on it, still being there, rather than her desk, I imagine :)) but that was funny. Yours, less so. Lucky he wasn’t badly hurt. Also reminded of the Monty Python sketch about „attack me with this fruit“ LOL! WOYWW is providing me with many remembered laughs this week, it seems. Art a week off from Art? we all take one every so often….

    Happy WOYWW!
    Mary Anne (1)

  4. **GASP!!** :O I actually went cold when I read this. Why? Because my hubs fell off a ladder at work about two months ago and was in hospital for the day and in a bad way for about a month 😦 All better now tho‘ 😀 I sincerely hope your man feels well VERY soon 😀

  5. You will have to make him something nice with the grapes until he feels better. It must have been a terrible shock when it happened.
    Have a great week and happy crafting, Angela x 49

  6. Goodness, what a stressful week you’ve had – I hope your hubby is on the mend and not in too much pain. I’ve never heard of grape jam or seen it in the shops, but I am now wanting to try it after seeing your delicious looking photo! Hope you have a much better week and many thanks for stopping by my desk earlier.
    Diana #42

  7. So glad your hubby hasn’t done anything serious.

    The grapes look lovely. I’ve never seen grape jam either.

    Luna is adorable.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

    Happy WOYWW
    Sue 30

  8. Oh, goodness, Gabriele! I’m so glad your husband didn’t break anything due to the fall! And I’m happy that neither one of you had a heart attack because of it!! Your miraculous grape vine is beautiful and so are all the products you are making from the grapes!! Thanks for coming to see me! Happy WOYWW and have a wonderful week! Hugs, Darnell #19

  9. Oh my word, how frightening. I really. Hope he feels better soon and the rewards are worth it this year! I believe ( it may be folklore) that it is the occasional frost on the vine that gives you sweet fruit. I love the jam..we tend to call it grape jelly…I don’t know why!

  10. WOW. That was close thing. So glad you hubby wasn’t badly injured. Your jam looks yummy! Thanks for visiting and your comments on my Citra Solv efforts.
    I’d be interested to see if you find any other cleaning fluids that work. From the research I’ve done no-one’s found anything although many have tried – including me! 🙂
    We can’t get Citra Solv in the UK either. I bought mine from Ebay UK and, although the sellers said it was coming by post it didn’t come locally. Looking at the postmark it appears to have been flown in from Belgium! It’s pretty pricey so once this bottle is gone I doubt I’ll buy anymore.
    I’d love to know if you do give it a go.

  11. Oh no – poor hubby ! I hope he feels much better soon. I hope the grapes are grape-ful at being protected !! Thanks for visiting Ali #7

  12. Dangerous grapes indeed, but they look very tasty! Hope your husband recovers fast from his injuries, and you from the sight of seeing him fall.
    I’d love more fruit in the garden, but I am quite afraid of wasps. (and spiders)!
    Thanks for the earlier visit!
    Debbie/Daqa #18

  13. I can see why you call them dangerous …. I had thought it was something to do with them being fermented into wine …. I guess not the jam sound even better … you can buy wine anywhere but grape jam …. priceless
    janet #6

  14. Oh dear, what a catastrophe! Thank goodness it was not more serious than it was, it must have been worrying for you. I think I would be wondering whether to bother about the grapes again after this had happened but then I guess we all put the bad things to the back of our minds as soon as we can.
    Just hope DH is feeling much better now, good luck for his coplete recovery.
    Hugs and thanks for visiting me, Neet 14 xx

  15. What an awful story, it can happen so easily and how lucky that nothing was broken (except the ladder). Now I’m going to catch up on your previous art making.

Thank you very much for visiting. You make my day, if you leave a comment!

