Altered Sculptures: Lost Soldiers

In Altered Sculptures I showed the first picture of a series. The subject this time were three little sculptures of some soldiers with shields, held in front of their thin, naked bodies. I had three of them to work with. I took photos of the sculptures and treated them in photoshop until I had a whole group.

The ship was also a sculpture of my friend, which I loved because of its raw looking appearance. I also took photographs of this and adapted it as well as a shield in photoshop and made prints which I collaged into the painted landscape with the big painted soldier.

When I saw the sculptures of the soldiers and the ship I had a fantasy of some soldiers being lost in a strange world. They where afraid of anyone getting too close and harm them. The bravest one is defending the little group.

A stunning thing happened when I exhibited this picture for the first time. A gentleman approached me and told me that he was looking at this picture for a long time and he felt the fear and loneliness he had to bear as a young soldier in war. And he thanked me, because we should never forget…

gestrandetekrieger

25 Antworten zu “Altered Sculptures: Lost Soldiers

  1. I think that’s one of the best compliments an artist can receive. When a piece truly moves someone else — reaches directly to their heart and touches their own history — it’s wonderful.

  2. Wow!! So powerful!! Your work is always so beautiful & meaningful! To evoke feelings from viewers of art is the ultimate complement! Beautifully done! And thanks for visiting my little corner of the blog world! 🙂

  3. Wow, that story made me shiver… isn’t it amazine when your art can do that to people?! The piece is absolutely stunning!

Thank you very much for visiting. You make my day, if you leave a comment!

